I recently stumbled across one of the most innovative marketing campaigns I have ever seen in this country. The source of which is even more remarkable because it is the local yellow pages. They launched a campaign entitled “Hello Yellow” which is intended to create awareness and drive people to use the online yellow pages.

This campaign utilises various media spread across the island to get the word out: fully branded sno-cone carts, bus shelters, a surfboard shaped sign (for surf lessons), supermarket trolleys, a branded (of course) T-shirt clad group participating in a “fun walk” , and a completely wrecked car which points the way to insurance and wrecker services.

(Anyone that knows me can imagine I freaked out when I saw the wrecked car.)

Kudos must go to the advertising team (ironically “Red Advertising”) and the Marketing Manager at the Barbados Yellow Pages for this somewhat guerrilla styled campaign (how guerrilla can you get with an actual budget right?) Hopefully this gets marketers and ad people to wake up and dust off their creativity in the coming months.

I’m excited to see what else is coming in the form of innovative and creative marketing campaigns.